What our Guests say about us

Here's what people are saying about Ray's Roost.

Now 55 Reviews, with a 5-Star Rating !!!

 

Meghan K. said...

                    Everything we could have asked for.

 

Date of Stay       Dec 28, 2016

This house and the mountain views are just spectacular! My fiancé and I stayed here with three other couples for a NYE getaway. The rooms and living areas are very spacious, comfortably seating eight guests. The house was pristine and well-stocked (may want to bring an extra roll of paper products if staying in most of the trip). The house is only 1.7 miles away from the charming downtown Highlands and close driving distance to lots of hikes! The views are just incredible. Don't miss sunset because the colors are just gorgeous while the sun sets over the mountains. Our first two days were very cold and windy but the wind blocks and mushroom heater on the back porch made the conditions more than bearable so we could really use the deck and take in the views. Would absolutely love to return!

 

Michael N. said...

great house with great views. Close to everything .

150 Big Bearpen Lane, Highlands, NC, 28741, United States

 

Date of Stay               Oct 31, 2016

It is a great house with outstanding sunset views. You can walk a little higher up the mountain and have a 360 degree view. Whiteside mountain is about a 20 minute drive with more great views. Several water falls within a 30 minute drive as well as zip lining. Its close to town so about a 3 minute drive to town or you can walk it in about 30minutes. Nice town area with some nice stores and its all dog friendly. This is our second time staying in the house and will be back. The owners keep the house well stocked with everything you need to cook. Fire pit in front of the house was nice touch. Look up at night and see soooo many stars, beautiful. Only draw back in my opinion is all the golf courses in Highlands are private so have to drive 30 minutes to an hour to play. You will be happy you chose this house for your stay.

 

Lisa W. said...

Absolutely stunning!

 

Date of Stay               Oct 26, 2016

This house is amazing & the views are breathtaking! The house decor is stunning as are the hardwoods & exposed wood beams. The kitchen is very well equipped & organized with labels throughout. The fire pit, front porch swing & back deck are awesome! All the amenities of home & WAY more. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful home & hope to visit again. Highly recommend!!! Deserves more than 5 stars.

 

Wiliiam H. said...

Awesome House, View, Interior Decorating, and Firepit!!!

150 Big Bearpen Lane, Highlands, NC, 28741, United States

 

Date of Stay               Oct 16, 2016

We recently rented this spacious mountain top home and thoroughly enjoyed our first ever visit to Highlands. The home is gorgeous inside and out with two master bedroom suites. The view is hard to describe especially sipping a glass of wine at sunset. Kitchen has a large chef grade 4 burner gas range and we cooked a couple of great meals. Kitchen is very well stocked with all necessary tools and appliances. Awesome fire pit outside. We brought our own fire wood and grill and cooked NY strip steaks over the fire pit. We bought the steaks at Dusty's in town. Do not miss their banana pudding and tomato pies to go. Get there early in the day before they sell out. Both are to die for. We had dinner out one night at Cyprus. Food was great, service slow and terrible. They were crowded and missing one chef for that night. Also had lunch at the Old Edwards Inn. Had the shrimp and grits. Service and atmosphere impeccable. We were very pleased with our stay at this home and would recommend it strongly to anyone wanting to visit the area. We did have a bit of trouble with key lock box when we first arrived and I called the owner on his cell and guess what he answered his phone and resolved our issue immediately. Thanks Jim.

 

Janet R. said...

Perfect Mountain House!

 

Date of Stay               Oct 5, 2016

Our family fell in love with Ray's Roost. Over the last few years, we've rented at least 4 or 5 different places in Highlands, and this is our favorite. I've never seen a vacation rental so well-appointed! I brought my crock pot and my favorite skillet and discovered I could have saved myself the trouble. The kitchen is completely stocked with all the cookware, dishes, serving and prepping tools you'll ever need. We enjoyed cooking and eating our meals on the deck porch. Oh, and the fire pit is great! We had a wonderful time sitting around the fire, making s'mores and drinking wine. The beds are comfortable. I'm a sheet snob (yes, it does exist) and I was very pleased about the sheets. If you're a Costco fan (as I am), you're gonna love this house. Even through Matthew was hitting the Coast, and we lost power for a short while one day, (very windy) and it rained one whole day, we all had a wonderful time. The view is extraordinary, the entire house comfortable, and our hosts could not have been more accommodating. We will absolutely be back. Thanks for having us!!

 

Janet R. said...

Perfect Mountain House!

 

Date of Stay               Oct 5, 2016

Our family fell in love with Ray's Roost. Over the last few years, we've rented at least 4 or 5 different places in Highlands, and this is our favorite. I've never seen a vacation rental so well-appointed! I brought my crock pot and my favorite skillet and discovered I could have saved myself the trouble. The kitchen is completely stocked with all the cookware, dishes, serving and prepping tools you'll ever need. We enjoyed cooking and eating our meals on the deck porch. Oh, and the fire pit is great! We had a wonderful time sitting around the fire, making s'mores and drinking wine. The beds are comfortable. I'm a sheet snob (yes, it does exist) and I was very pleased about the sheets. If you're a Costco fan (as I am), you're gonna love this house. Even through Matthew was hitting the Coast, and we lost power for a short while one day, (very windy) and it rained one whole day, we all had a wonderful time. The view is extraordinary, the entire house comfortable, and our hosts could not have been more accommodating. We will absolutely be back. Thanks for having us!!

 

TravelersSC said...

Wonderful week in Highlands

 

Date of Stay               Aug 12, 2016

Four of us (2 couples) stayed here for a week in August. As others have said, it exceeded expectations. We appreciated how well stocked it was, and loved the decks with the amazing view and cool breezes. We also appreciated the history of the place, and the big book which details the history of Highlands. Another big plus is plenty of options for walking from the house (to town, on the Greenway, or the loop around Big Bear Pen Mountain). We saw a bear (only one day), as well as a doe and fawn. In Highlands and surrounding area, we enjoyed many of the restaurants (made reservations in advance for most of them) and also several hiking paths (Dry Falls, Glen Falls, Whiteside Mountain, Sunset Rock). We enjoyed the unique Museum of American Cut and Engraved Glass.

 

 

Larry D. said...

Home away from home.

Date of Stay               Jul 29, 2016

The whole family loves our time in Highlands and "Ray's Roost" makes our stay even better. Bring the extended family and Grand children, you will be making life long memories for all. The place for the perfect family vacation.

 

 

Sandra w. said...

Top- notch

 

Date of Stay               Jul 15, 2016

Wonderful two weeks in Highlands at a beautiful and comfortable home. All the comforts of home with a great view and very convenient to downtown and all attractions. We ate all our meals on the covered back deck and enjoyed the beautiful sunsets. Very helpful hosts.

 

 

Lee Ann F. said...

Comfortable home with an amazing view.

 

Date of Stay               Jul 7, 2016

We were a family of 8 staying at this wonderful home to attend a family wedding. It is just a quick drive to town but when you are there you feel miles away from everything. We especially loved sitting on the deck looking out at the magnificent view. The bedrooms were comfortable and the kitchen was perfect for cooking and serving. I liked the small fenced in area that my 3 year old could play around in. We went on a beautiful hike that started jus a little way down the road. We want to come and stay again.

 

 

Kathleen C. said...

A Close Thing to Heaven

 

Date of Stay               Jun 27, 2016

We had a wonderful week. The property was more than we'd hoped. Our goals were a great view, great location and reasonable accommodations. We were giddy when we walked in an saw the view and how lovely the home was. It had all of the amenities you hope for, even though you don't use half of them, including the fire pit, great blankets for beautifully cool evenings and mornings, multiple televisions, comfortable beds and pillows, good shower etc. The location just up the mountain from downtown is excellent. The back porch faces west, so you're treated with a great sunset most every day. The beds and furniture both inside and outside were comfortable and attractive. We were with friends and have taken to calling it "our" mountain getaway and "our" view. No question we will be back.

 

lynn g. said...

Wonderful property

 

Date of Stay               Jun 17, 2016

Wonderful property. It is well stocked and so comfortable. Our second trip and will not be our last.

 

Virginia S. said...

This is a fabulous house with an amazing view!

 

Date of Stay               Jun 11, 2016

We had a wonderful week at Ray's Roost. It was clean and very comfortable. The porch and view were perfect. A wonderful family vacation!

 

 

Annie said...

Ray's Roast

 

Date of Stay               May 31, 2016

Exceptional place with plenty of room for a big family. Unreal views, morning , noon , and night. Sunrise over the mountains, afternoon showers and fog, and a sunset at night. Can't ask for anything more. Homeowners have everything supplied, move-in ready...! Great location! Easy drive to town... I did not want to come home......! Lover this place and love Highlands

Stacy W. said...

Beautiful!

 

Date of Stay               May 25, 2016

This house and this view! We had a wonderful long weekend with family and friends. The home is perfect. I would not change a thing. Better book it now because we tried to book for later and it is full. Understandable! We shall return.

 

 

Page said...

Get a Boost at Ray's Roost

 

Date of Stay               May 18, 2016

I can't say enough about this beautiful mountain home. The location is top notch with views from the mountaintop across the valley to the mountains beyond. The house if well furnished - the bedrooms and bathrooms are comfortable and nicely appointed. The kitchen has all utensils and cookware and is laid out for ease of cooking. Don't miss the deck and porches, you'll want to spend maximum time there. It is obvious that the owners take pride in their home and want guests to feel welcome. Our group has already decided to make it an annual event.

 

 

Zeke D. said...

Great time with our group

 

Date of Stay               Mar 10, 2016

We had a fantastic time at Ray's Roost. Everything was set up perfectly when we arrived, we had all of the information that we needed easily accessible. Jim and Lorine covered all of our questions in the pre arrival email. Overall, it was a very nice experience and we will definitely go back.

 

 

Anonymous said...

Awesome veiws!

 

Date of Stay               Feb 11, 2016

This home is perfect for a large family and children. The veiws are great, it is in perfect location to town where there are several great spots to eat and shop. The rooms are very spacious with room to accommidate my husband and i and 2 children. The back porch over looks a breathtaking view where i enjoyed reading. There are so many great things to say about this home, we will definitely be back!

 

 

Montana fans said...

Great house, great views!

 

Date of Stay               Dec 30, 2015

I hope to stay here again. The house is perfect and very clean and comfortable. I want to go in Warner months so I can enjoy the back porch and the VIEW! Also, great communication with owner with any questions about your stay. In conclusion, a great overall experience!

 

 

Vicki P. said...

The house is even better than the pictures!!

 

Date of Stay               Dec 8, 2015

This is such a beautiful home. The kitchen was well stocked and there were so many luxuries. We loved the outdoor heater and gas grill. The fire pit for S'mores and family time was great!! We hope to go again! Be sure and take firewood. The Master was so nice with a beautiful view, great closet, and sitting area in front of a gas heater. Five stars!! Jim Spencer was right on top with emails and information! He is the best owner ever to help you in every situation!! Thanks Jim!!

 

 

Andrea P. said...

Our favorite Highlands stay to date.

 

Date of Stay               Nov 21, 2015

Our family of 6 adults, 2 toddlers, an infant and our dog stayed here for an entire week and it was perfect! Plenty of room for everyone, a mile to town, quiet and secluded with an awe-inspiring view; make this one of our favorite Highlands stay to date. My morning run and our afternoon walks further up the mountain were fantastic. Very scenic with views of Whiteside. We enjoyed every bit of our stay. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed to prepare Thanksgiving dinner. The owner was a pleasure to work with and responded immediately when we had WiFi issues, which were resolved promptly. The home is well maintained with comfortable furniture and bedding. Very clean. I would highly recommend this property. Thanks again for a memorable stay.

 

 

Lauren H. said...

Great views and very close to town

 

Date of Stay               Nov 4, 2015

We stayed for a long weekend with our two young children (under 7). We were looking for a property close to the Main Street of Highlands that also had great views. This was just what we had in mind. The house was well appointed, clean, and organized. The views were beautiful from many areas of the house, not just the back porch. The yard was lovely and our children had lots of fun playing outside. However it rained quite a bit so we weren't able to use the fire pit but that would have been lovely. The drive to town was very easy and quick. The bedrooms are laid out in a way that would offer a larger group plenty of privacy. There is a supply of dvd's and books that was a nice surprise. The master bathrooms were both lovely, one with an updated large tile shower and the other with a large bathtub overlooking the mountain. The house is at the end of a quiet road that was not too scary to traverse with steep switchbacks, etc. like going up Whiteside or somewhere like that. We would definitely recommend this property and would love the opportunity to stay here again.

 

 

Suzy said...

Amazing view, close to town, kids and grandparents loved it!

 

Date of Stay               Oct 21, 2015

We stayed with our two small children (2 and 5), two sets of grandparents, and our lap dog. Here are the biggest pros of this property: - The back deck and the view. Not only is the view from the deck breathtaking but the deck is a wonderful place to relax and hang out. The grandparents loved sitting outside and enjoying the mountain air on the comfortable deck furniture. We ate many meals outside with the view and napped in the hammock provided by the owners. - The bedrooms. Not only are the rooms warm and comfy, the two masters and kids room are situated so that there is a good amount of privacy and quiet. The masters are wonderful and have a ton of space. - The fire pit. Boy oh boy did we have fun with the fire pit. The grandparents loved sitting around the fire and the kids thought the s'more party was a blast. - Location. An easy drive to town. We love to shop and eat in the highlands. The owners were very nice, I highly reccomend. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

Frank said...

Spectacular

Date of Stay      October 15, 2015

This place is spectacular. We really enjoyed the view. Very comfortable inside and out. Outside view of the mountains while sitting in comfort was amazing. The swing out front was very relaxing. The rooms are very beautiful and comfortable. Just about everything you need for a pleasant stay is provided. We are already talking about coming back really soon.

Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Pet-friendly,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Tourists without a Car,  Adventure Seekers,  Romantic Getaway

 

Heather M said...

Stunning view for a long weekend with friends

Date of Stay  October 8, 2015

We rented this property for a long weekend getaway with 6 adults, 4 young children, and 2 dogs (oh my!). The feature of this cabin that made it truly special was the stunning views from the back of the cabin and the deck. Everyone enjoyed the stunning views of the fall foliage throughout our stay. There was more than enough room for our party in the cabin and on the generously sized patio and back deck as well without feeling crowded. The children adored the room with the bunk beds and all the bedrooms were comfortable. We enjoyed cooking together, time spent at the fireplace and fire pit, and exploring the charming town of Highlands. The children took an art class at The Bascom on a rainy Saturday for only $5 per child. The Bascom is free and has interesting exhibits both indoors and outdoors as well a covered bridge that we used to take group pictures on a drier day. Dry Falls is a must see for everyone, while Whiteside Mountain affords amazing views on a clear day for those who enjoy hiking. Our advice for those renting this property in the future is to buy paper products and other essentials at home. These items were quite expensive in town when we went shopping to replenish supplies during our stay.


 

Lesley WLesley W. said...

Very Comfortable Mountain Home

Date of Stay   September 24, 2015

Very clean, spacious and well maintained home. Owner extremely flexible and easy to work with. Eight adults stayed comfortably for a three night wedding celebration weekend. Walking to town was not an option for us due to the rain. However, in any weather the walk to main street would be a challenge for kids and elderly. It is an uphill climb back, thus the great views! Easy driving to all activities and venues in the Highlands/Cashiers area. I would rent again.

e

Riversong said...

perfect rental for family

Date of Stay   September 14, 2015

We have stayed at many a rental in Highlands, and this one has a great combo of view, comfort, location, space and friendly owners. Everything in the house in well thought out from a renter's perspective and house was very clean. Beds comfortable, heated blankets were a lovely surprise at the end of the day. Plenty of very nice towels in bathrooms. Kitchen well stocked and easy to work in. Deck is well furnished and has great grill. W/D worked well. Fenced dog area off master bedroom is so convenient for taking care of business, and I worried less about our furry baby wandering off and finding local wildlife. We all loved our week here!

Recommended for: Pet-friendly,  Girls Getaway,  Families with Teenagers

 

 

KatKatherine F. said...

Beautiful Retreat

Date of Stay   September 10, 2015

When our niece and her fiance announced plans to marry in the Highlands, we all got out our maps. None of us had ever been to this part of NC. About 100 wedding guests invaded this beautiful region of the country. Accommodations ranged from condos to hotel to VRBO homes. We had the best of the best with Ray's Roost. Our group consisted of 2 grandparents, 2 sons and wives and 3 kids 4 and under and one dog. Our 4 year old grandson cried when it was time to leave. The home is beautiful, well equipped, carefully thought out. We enjoyed the fire pit, the porch, everything. Bedding, towels, furnishings are all first class. The view is beyond beautiful. Thank you, thank you. We hope to come back one day.

Recommended for: People with Disabilities,  Families with Young Children,  Pet-friendly,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers

 

B. Nancy B. said...

Beautiful View in a relaxing home

Date of Stay   August 27, 2015

Are you looking for a relaxing vacation home with a beautiful view? This is the place! The home is very welcoming with adequate space for a family or group of friends. The rooms are very comfortable, spacious, clean and inviting. In our personal experience, we had very spotty phone service so the high speed WiFi was a life saver. We were even able to see a small family of bears during our visit! There were nearby hiking trails that were easily accessible and just the right length. Fantastic back porch that made you want to stay there for hours. Fresh mountain air was a very nice change from the city air at home. For our first visit, we would definitely go the Highlands again especially to stay in this wonderful home!

Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Pet-friendly,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers

 

Lucy said...

Ray's Roost

Date of Stay     August 23, 2015

This is an exceptional property! I can't wait to go back! The view is spectacular! Great kitchen for lots of cooks. LOVE the fire pit! Comfortable and makes you relax instantly. All 6 of us LOVED it! Thank you Jim !!!

Recommended for: Pet-friendly,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers

 

Melissa H. said...

Wedding Weekend

Date of Stay    August 19, 2015

Our niece was married in Highlands this past weekend. This house made a very special weekend even better than we expected! Everything about the house was beautiful - from the groomed landscaping as you approach the house to breathtaking mountain views off the deck. All bedrooms were well appointed and the 2 master bedrooms were perfect for my husband and me and our oldest daughter and her husband. Our single children had plenty of room in the other bedrooms as well. The kitchen was fully stocked - we couldn't think of single thing that was missing. We had lots of wedding activities all over Highlands and this location was great for getting to everything quickly.

Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers

 

Larry D. said...

Summer 2015

Date of Stay   August 1, 2015

Our family comes to Highlands each summer.This experience was the best ever because of our rental experience. Great comfort, livability,location and particularly the views makes this a special home away from home.

 

Anna said...

Best house to rent in Highlands, NC!

Date of Stay   July 16, 2015

This house is absolutely beautiful. This is the best house we have every rented through VRBO. The views of the mountains are spectacular! The house is stocked fully....beyond our expectation. You can tell just how much the owners care for this house. We loved the house and truly hope to enjoy it again.

Recommended for: People with Disabilities,  Families with Young Children,  Pet-friendly,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers

 

Ginger B. said...

Perfect week in the mountains

Date of Stay    July 4, 2015

Wow, what a gorgeous and memorable place to stay in the mountains. The home was well laid out for our family with young adult children and our dogs. Even down to the outdoor dog pen area which ours loved. Cozy indoor spaces and bedrooms, very well-stocked kitchen, plenty of dining spaces and loads of outdoor options. And the view of the mountains and sunsets from the back deck cannot be beat! It was especially nice to visit in July, to escape the Florida heat. We noticed a several degree difference some days between the town at the bottom of the mountain and our deck with the refreshing breezes. We discovered wonderful walks up on the mountain - on the well-maintained dirt/rock roads and a nice hiking path nearby. And if you don't mind a bit of exercise, you can walk to town (it is all uphill on the return). Our exciting bear sighting was at the bottom of the mountain, just in town, at the front porch of a homeowner - a momma and her 2 cubs. Don't leave the garbage out! We were glad to be in the car instead of walking or running then. There are lots of great dining/shopping options in town, and nearby hikes. The community center has a gym with convenient family membership if the hiking is not sufficient exercise for you.

Recommended for: Pet-friendly,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Families with Teenagers

 

Ray said...

Ray's Roost

Date of Stay    June 27, 2015

Beyond expectations! The house layout was extraordinary with features that were well thought out. We spent so much time on the back porch taking in the view, the weather and the peace and serenity. The master bedrooms were incredible. The location on Bear Pen Mountain gave incredible views, convenient to town. Our family vacation in the rain forest was first rate. Thanks!!!

Recommended for: Pet-friendly,  Sightseeing,  Age 55+,  Families with Teenagers

 

 

Kate said...-

unbeatable views!!  (5 stars)

Date of Stay   June 10, 2015

We stayed at Ray's Roost for the first time earlier this month. It was even better than described. This home is welcoming, comfortable, and perfect for a get away. Growing up, we escaped the heat of Florida for 1-2 weeks a year and traveled to Highlands. Because of all that goes with "life" we stopped going as a family for nearly 2 decades! We started back 6 years ago and found that even though some things have "progressed," so much is still the same and all that was good is still so very good. Thank you for opening your home to us--it was perfect. We all look forward to our return and will mentally carry with us the unbelievable sunsets we took part in every night on your back porch!

Recommended for: People with Disabilities,  Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers 

 

Karen B. said...

"Bearly" Exciting stay !  (5 stars)

Date of Stay   May 28, 2015

Our stay at Rays Roost was wonderful and "Bearly" exciting! We got to see a momma bear with her 3 cubs in the yard and then they broke into 1 of our cars looking for food (there wasnt any) but they didnt leave a mess either. Quite amazing. The house was great and had everything we needed. Loved the deck, the views, the privacy and the bedding was great!

Recommended for: People with Disabilities,  Families with Young Children,  Pet-friendly,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Age 55+,  Families with Teenagers

 

Midge H. said...

A place for all generations.  (5 stars)

Date of Stay   May 23, 2015

My family of four generations just spent the Memorial Day weekend at Ray's Roost and we all had an amazing experience. This house just topped our list as "favorite vacation rental". The house was spacious and inviting and it had everything we needed to cook large meals and make ourselves comfortable. The views from the back of the house and deck are incredible and when we were ready to settle in for the night we were delighted to find that the TV even offered Netflix. We recommend this lovely home to anyone looking for a quiet comfortable place to relax and enjoy nature and still have the benefits of being close to the action in downtown Highlands. We will definitely be back.

Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Pet-friendly,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers

 

Jacquie H. said...

Ray's Roost -- a perfect place to stay  (5 stars)

Date of Stay    May 7, 2015

Awesome home with great views from the back porch, the sunsets are worth watching! Home is comfortable, inviting, and relaxing. Having 2 masters was an asset and individual bathrooms. Loved the place, we will be back.

Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Pet-friendly,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers 

 

 

James said...

Your home is fantastic   (5 stars)

Date of Stay   April 9, 2015

Hi, We don't have any complaints at all. Your home is fantastic. We have been coming to Highlands for the past 20+ years and have stayed in many homes and this is one of the best so far. We usually never stay in the same place twice, but we will be back at Rays Roost. It is big enough for our Family and your accommodating our dogs is great, and appreciated. I have a property management, construction business and caretake 40+ homes on Lake Burton and can't help but being critical when we are the guest, but your place is perfect. I was pleasantly surprised rounding the corner and immediately noticing how well kept the house and yard were this early in the season. Thanks to you and your caretaker for making our stay ideal. Kindest Regards Jamie.

 

Michael C. said...

great house for a big or small group   (5 stars)

Date of Stay    March 31, 2015

My wife and I stayed here with my parents and my two year old son. This house had everything we needed. We really enjoyed sitting on the back porch in the comfy furniture and turning on the heating lamp, even though it was chilly a few nights. The awesome screening on the back porch helped with that and helped keep the wind off of the porch. We also had a great time with the fire pit and the huge front porch. At night we had plenty of options for watching a move or TV. Plenty of room for a big family - tons of bedrooms and bathrooms. The owner was excellent to work with.

Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers

 

Hal E. said...

Lovely place to stay   (5 stars)

Date of Stay  January 1, 2015

We enjoyed a very nice New Year's weekend at Ray's Roost. Although it was cold and rainy outside, it was wonderful to hang out around the warm fireplace. The house was spotless and nicely furnished.

 

 

Mary H. said...

Mary H.   (5 stars)

Date of Stay  November 16, 2014

We had a really nice stay at Ray's Roost with the family right before Thanksgiving. The house was well furnished and had great views of the mountains. We liked the fact that there were two masters on separate floors. Did encounter a large black bear and cub right on the road, which was a little scary, but very interesting! The only problems we saw were with not enough good lighting in living room for reading and the new LED lights in dining room made it feel institutional. We let owners know and they took care of it the very next week! So, owners are really great. They always, responded quickly during whole rental process promptly and so nice. The house seems more of an adult or older children retreat. Wonderful porches to hang out on for even a large group and comfy nice seating. Spotlessly clean! Would definitely recommend to others! Highlands is a wonderful town with much to do and see and some of the best waterfalls to explore within 30 minutes. Restaurants are top notch, suitable to the Foodies in your group.

Recommended for: Pet-friendly,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers

 

Dixiequilter said...

Family get-together in Mountains

Date of Stay    November 7, 2014

Our family of 6 adults and 3 children enjoyed a great time together at this property. We had difficulty finding a rental that met the needs of 3 married couples and 3 children who needed to sleep close by their parents. This house was perfect. It also had an extra bed in the bunk room so that a babysitter could spend one night. The view was spectacular! Lots of windows and natural lighting, great deck, kitchen and outdoor grill. Plenty of room in the den for the adults to watch football games. Large screen TV's throughout home. The master suite was spectacular. Bathrooms for each bedroom so privacy needs were met. Favorite family activity though was two evenings surrounding the fire pit to make s'mores, and share family stories. Each of us left there wanting to return home and build our own backyard fire pits. We will go back again if possible. House was immaculate.

 

 

Viv said...

Girls getaway

Date of Stay    October 30, 2014

There were 7 of us, longtime friends. We've been on many trips together through the years, but this was probably the most relaxing at a needed time. This place was perfect, can't think of one thing to complain about! We all want to return in the spring. We did experience a beautiful fall day on arrival and the great view sitting on the porch and then we had snow and more beautiful scenery! There is plenty to do nearby and lots of wonderful restaurants. Thank you for sharing your wonderful home!!!

 

 

ahjackson said...

Sailing buds mountain trip

Date of Stay   October 23, 2014

Eight of us stayed at this fantastic mountain residence. It was very comfortable for us all and beautifully decorated. The views every day was amazing especially as the leave S on the trees where turning to autumn colors. The property is well furnished with everything you need without leaving. Town is close by. Great hiking trails at all levels. Will definitely be back

 

 

Kathy & Batman said...

Unbelievable Vacation Spot, a MUST visit!

Date of Stay    October 19, 2014

The pictures of this rental home do it no justice. We went there on our honeymoon and are already planning to return. This home is so beautiful but you have to actually see it to appreciate the splendor of all it offers! If you want a romantic get away this is the place. If you want a family get away this is the place. If you want the most beautiful vacation home around, this is the place. Cannot wait to go back!!!!!!

 

Peggy said...

Perfect get away!

Date of Stay  October 11, 2014

What a wonderful time our family had in beautiful Highlands! This very spacious and beautifully appointed property could not have been more perfect. There were 7 of us, including a toddler and it never felt crowded. The back porch view is nothing short of spectacular! This serene setting was exactly what we were looking for. The "cabin" (more of a luxury property) was true to the description, with very comfortable furniture - especially the beds and pillows. We also enjoyed sitting on the front porch and around the outdoor fire pit at night. Lovely family place, but would be great for anyone looking to get away. Downtown Highlands with great shopping was very close as well as several hiking trails and waterfalls. Perfection!

 

 

KB said...

Very nice

Date of Stay    October 4, 2014

The house was large, very clean, well furnished, well stocked, centrally located, easy to get to and the view - oh my the view - was simply spectacular. My wife and I have been renting houses in and around Highlands for more than a decade and Ray's Roost is hands down the best we've found. The owner was very helpful and responsive.

 

Janet English said...

Sep 9, 2014

 

A Great Getaway

We love to come up here. It is a place to lay back, enjoy the surrounding beauty, take long walks or rides, maybe even see a bear, from a safe distance. All of the local restaurants and businesses have been great, friendly, and accommodating.

 

The home itself is beautiful, comfortable, and just feels inviting. It is large enough to meet the needs of great family, or friend get together. Sunsets as seen from the back deck, and over the mountains, are awe inspiring. The wonderful mountain breezes through the home, and the cooler temperatures, make their home a welcome respite. Jim and Lorine are warm and welcoming. They love to answer any questions you might have, and make your visit a pleasurable experience.

 

=======================================================

 

Keith Crosswhite said...

Aug 19, 2014

Spectacular views, sunsets and well appointed home!

 

This place is amazing! If this is the size home you need to rent (although we managed to fit a cot in there!), you will not find one better!!! This well appointed home has the most comfortable back porch with great views of the mountains and the prettiest sunsets you will ever see (the picture is very accurate!!). There are more thoughtful details in the design than I can name, but the clear curtain for the covered deck section (with comfy furniture) that can be lowered to keep out wind/cold or raised for the nice breezes makes that area incredibly flexible. The uncovered deck portion has a double hammock that everyone enjoyed, and the dog run off the deck is a dog's dream that keeps your pet safe. The porches were the best and many memories were made including game time on the outside table.  One of the reasons we opted for your 4 bedroom instead of a 5 was because of that great porch furniture.

 

The kitchen had everything we needed as well as being beautiful with the new granite. The pantry fit everything we brought for our crew of 9 and the coziness of the dining table worked well for our meals. The full table on the deck would have been great for meals, but we used it for games! The two master bedrooms (who has two masters?) were just beautiful….The location of this house is unmatched to have such a private, beautiful view and yet be only a mile from the street quickly leading to wonderful Highlands.

 

The parking was generous compared to other properties I saw in that direction, and the front landscaping was beautiful with a generous front porch. The fire pit out front was great fun for s'mores and the nice touch of electric lights surrounding topped off the night experience. Did I mention the wonderful hiking and our attempt at trout fishing in lovely streams? (spring and fall are better for fishing but we caught a few!) I so hope we will get to come here again!!

 

The pluses to this house are too many to count…but there are so many thoughtful details that made things extra easy.  The view and location cannot be matched!

We played croquet on the front lawn.  It was surprising how much fun we could have in such a small area!!  Thanks for having so much seating out front…made it great for mom in particular. 

 

 

Recommended for: Age 55+,  Adventure Seekers,  Pet-friendly,  Girls Getaway,  Sightseeing,  Families with Teenagers,  Families with Young Children,  Romantic Getaway

 

Todd Burke said...

Aug 11, 2014

Beautiful views, well-appointed

What a beautiful home and amazing views from every window! This home was perfect for our family of 5. There is also a perfect little side yard for your dog to enjoy. Every aspect of this home has been well thought out and well-appointed. The back deck is fantastic and we spent many hours on it, enjoying the gorgeous views and the wonderful weather. We would most definitely return to this beautiful home!

 

Recommended for: Pet-friendly,  Girls Getaway,  Sightseeing,  Families with Teenagers,  Romantic Getaway

 

My Response

Thank you, Todd. We love dogs, and thought that side yard would work out well for them. I am glad it did for you. I do hope we will see you and the family back next year.

 

=======================================================

 

Ron Howes said...

Jul 27, 2014

Almost heaven!

From the moment we walked through the door we were overwhelmed by the comfort and beauty of your home. The solitude and the beautiful views were, just as the entire experience, were beyond our expectations. We are still talking about the halcyon days we spent in your home and beautiful Highlands. Thank you, we'll be back!

 

Recommended for: Age 55+,  Adventure Seekers,  Pet-friendly,  Girls Getaway,  Tourists without a Car,  Sightseeing,  Families with Teenagers,  Families with Young Children,  People with Disabilities,  Romantic Getaway

 

My Response

Thank you very much, Ron, for such nice comments. We made the home for us, and so we are very pleased to know you enjoyed it, too. We do hope you will visit with us again.

 

=======================================================

 

Lisa Herman said...

Jul 15, 2014

Perfect Mountain Vacation Spot

Ray's Roost is the perfect Highlands vacation spot--beautiful mountain views with a 2 minute drive (or a 20 minute walk) to Main Street. The home is very comfortable, well laid out, immaculate and has a large deck with plenty of seating and a hammock. The owners are incredibly responsive to all questions. We enjoyed gorgeous sunsets, peaceful mornings on the deck (54 degrees the morning of July 4!) and cool mountain breezes--we visited first week of July and never needed to turn on the air conditioning. In addition to the mainstream trails and waterfalls listed in guidebooks, we discovered some short hiking trails walking distance from the home (which make for fun exploring for the kids). Our kids are aged 14, 10 and 6 and they cannot wait to return to Ray's Roost for our next Highlands adventure! We highly recommend this property. Thank you for a wonderful family getaway.

 

My Response

Thank you very much, Lisa. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. The trails you found are part of the ones created and maintained by the city of Highlands, and provide fun and interesting trails in and around the city itself. I hope you took the one down to the Biological station, and the big pond (small lake?) they have. And we look forward to any other visit you may wish to have.

 

======================================================

 

Joan Durbin said...

Jun 20, 2014

You won't want to leave

Our recent stay at Ray's Roost was one of the best we've ever had in our years if visiting Highlands. You simply couldn't ask for a better view and the deck has all sorts of comfy seats from which to appreciate it. The photos don't really do this home justice. There is a distinct mountain elegance to its furnishings and the many windows let in plenty of light. The kitchen is great for cooking and there is a nice fenced in area for the dogs. Easily accessible and plenty of parking. As soon as you leave, you'll want to turn around and go back. We hope to make it up here again very soon.

 

Recommended for: Age 55+,  Pet-friendly,  Girls Getaway,  Sightseeing,  Families with Teenagers,  Families with Young Children,  Romantic Getaway

 

=======================================================

 

Becky and Paul Roberts said...

May 26, 2014

Fabulous property

This house has been recently renovated. We found it to be absolutely beautiful, inside and outside. Numerous windows and a large covered deck provide a spectacular view of the mountains from just about anywhere in the house. We thought the house was modern, spacious and very comfortable to live in. The furnishings are new and give the house a very warm mountain home feeling. It is equipped with everything you need including WiFi. This is the perfect place to go to get away and relax. Once you get there you won't need your car very often because Main Street is within walking distance. We had a great time there and look forward to going back again! We highly recommend this property for a relaxing getaway in the mountains.

 

Recommended for: Age 55+,  Adventure Seekers,  Girls Getaway,  Families with Young Children,  Romantic Getaway

 

Contact Us Today!

Ray's Roost
Highlands, NC

 

Check Availability & Book !

 

Have questions?

    Email us

    Call Us: +1 (678) 534-6870

Print Print | Sitemap
© Hathorn Enterprises